Displaying Our Memory

When I made post about the black history month, I mentioned that I am going to write about our displaying capabilities. Sadly, I have to say that they are very inadequate. When I asked around if people saw the display, the answer was more often ‘no’ than ‘yes’. I can’t really blame them, as the location and the equipment are hardly adequate. Don’t get me wrong. I think that both archives and library staff are doing the best they can with what they got. However, what they got is hardly enough. A glass cabinet displays that is tough to look into and one ‘bible stand’ is all there is to put up a display.

When I was young I went to a school that was located in a city that was very young, less than seventy years. The school was the first to be opened in this young city and was not much more than fifty years old. Even though their history was not very long, they still managed to have a ‘memory hall’- a specially prepared room to house the display of their mementoes. Wouldn’t you agree that as a school with long history and prestige, we deserve to have a ‘memory hall’? I think that it would be a great idea. We could share it of course and use it to display other things, the work of the art students perhaps? The visitors on the Open Days could clearly see that we’re to be treated seriously and that we’re proud of what we are. Our memory deserves better than to be hidden away or relegated to the corner of a busy corridor.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

