Operation Poppyfield-conclusion and The Dust Harvester.

machinesWhew! After all that excitement of the past weeks, I am happy to report that the Operation Poppyfield was a success. The 1100 poppies made by our team and the helpful students has been planted in a sombre display in front of the war memorials. Check them out if you haven’t done so yet.
And now I want to start a new cycle of the blog: The Dust Harvester. Because I am so busy with my Masters, my capacity to sit and learn with traditional methods is about full. That’s why I have taken upon myself to let my brain cells rest a while and do some spring…well…autumn cleaning with all the equipment that we have inherited from the defunct science departments. You might be familiar with the mystery machine that turned out to be a device for measuring thermal conductivity of copper. I assure you, that is not the only thing that looks like it was touched by mad science. Some of those machines are OLD. Old enough that their leather straps turned to stone and their plastic casings turned brittle. Some of them look like they would make Dr. Frankenstein very happy. And I, as a person that will explore them with a damp rag for the first time in years, will try to get to the bottom of those devices and boxes that once turned students into scientists (hopefully not of the mad kind).

Leave a comment

Filed under artefacts, long time ago

Leave a Reply

